Free Case Evaluation

Call 940-465-3178 or Submit the Form

We have the experience necessary to fight for you! The Wheeler Law Office is available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. We offer a free consultation and we are prepared to travel to you to discuss your legal options if, for example, you are currently in jail.

Fill out the free case evaluation form, and we will get back to you shortly.

The Penalties Associated With DWI Arrests in Denton County, TX

Texas has some of the strictest DWI and DUI laws in the country. What are you looking at if you are arrested for DWI in Denton County? It really depends on the circumstance. Were there children in the car? Did you refuse a breath or blood test? Is this your second or third DWI? The penalties associated with DWI in Texas can cost you thousands of dollars, loss of license, prison time, large fees to retain your license and much more strife in your personal and professional life. However, hiring a lawyer will greatly assist in making sure that if you are in fact arrested for DWI in Texas, there are options available to you. We recommend you contact the Wheeler Law Office if you are arrested on suspicion of DWI.

What Counts as DWI in Texas?

According to Texas state law, a person is considered to be legally intoxicated once his or her blood/breath alcohol concentration registers over .08. Additionally, a person can be considered intoxicated if he or she is impaired due to alcohol or other drugs regardless of BAC. Also, if you are pulled over and there is an open container of alcohol in the vehicle, you may be fined up to $500.

DWI With a Child in the Car

If you have a child in the car when you get pulled over on suspicion of DWI, the penalties are significantly more harsh than if you were by yourself. Child endangerment can lead to custody issues if you are pulled over with a passenger younger than 15 in your car. Punishments include fines up to $10,000, up to two years in jail, and loss of your driver license for six months. We highly recommend that you contact our offices if these are your circumstances.

What to Do if You are Stopped

Police officers often act friendly towards people pulled over on suspicion of DWI. Once stopped, you are required to show them your license, proof of insurance, and vehicle registration, but that is it. Once the officer begins asking you about your alcohol consumption, they have already started the investigation. Be polite and courteous, but ask to speak to a lawyer if the police officer does not allow you to leave. Request an attorney and do nothing else. If the officer asks for a sample of your breath or blood, tell them no. The officer will then be required to get a warrant for the blood sample. Make them do the work.

What are You Looking at if Convicted?

A DWI in any circumstance is never easy to deal with. An attorney from Wheeler Law Office will be able to fight for you and make sure you get the best outcome possible in your situation. However, if you do not hire a lawyer, these are the maximum sentences you are looking at:

  • For a first offense: a fine of $2,000, 180 days in jail, loss of driver license for a year, $2,000 annual fee to retain your license for three years.
  • A second offense can lead to a fine of $4,000, a year in jail, annual fee of $2,000 for the next three years to retain your license.
  • If you have a third offense, you will be fined $10,000, 10 year prison sentence, loss of driver license for two years, $2,000 annual fee to retain your license for three years.
  • Also, after two or more DWI convictions in five years, you are required to install a special ignition switch in your car that connects to a breathalyzer.

Wheeler Law Office in Denton, TX is dedicated to fighting for their clients and helping them avoid the life-altering penalties that come along with DWI. If you have been arrested on suspicion of DWI, please contact our offices immediately at (940) 465-3178 or fill out the contact form on our website. We are available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. Time is of the essence. You need to begin your defense immediately.

Available 24 Hours a Day 7 Days a Week

You’ve Got Rights. We Protect Them.

CALL FOR A FREE CONSULTATION      940-465-3178

Wheeler Law Office
Denton Criminal Defense Lawyer
Located at: 101 S. Woodrow Lane, Suite 102
Denton, TX 76205
Phone: (940) 465-3178
Website: http://www.wheelerlawoffices.com