Early this year, law enforcement arrested an individual in the Corinth area. After arrival at the scene of the crime, law enforcement located a person lying in the driveway of an apartment complex. The victim was likely the result of a hit and run accident. The victim was later discovered to have engaged in an illegal drug deal and run away with the driver’s money without delivering the drugs. The driver then proceeded to strike the victim. In some cases like this, drug possession charges can be made in conjunction with other potential criminal charges, such as Failure to Stop and Give Information as well as Failure to Stop and Render Aid.
Applicable Law in the State of Texas
Texas law states that a person can be convicted of a Failure to Stop and Give Information offense if the motorist was the driver of a vehicle in an accident, was aware that the vehicle was involved in the accident, and left the scene without exchanging information with the other driver. In the event that the other driver was injured and the motorist did not help the driver receive medical care, a charge can be made against the driver for Failure to Stop and Render Aid. As a result of this law, motorists should remember to stop and provide their names, addresses, insurance company details, and vehicle identification numbers if involved in an accident. Drivers should also provide any person who is injured in the accident assistance until he or she can be taken to a nearby medical facility.
Potential Penalties for Committing a Hit and Run Offense
Motorists who leave the scene of an accident that involves death or serious injury will be charged with a third-degree felony that can result in up to 10 years in prison. If the injury is not severe, a motorist still faces up to five years in a prison and a fine of $5,000. A hit and run that involves damage to another occupied vehicle is classified as a Class C misdemeanor that can result in a fine of up to $500. In the event that a person causes greater than $200 in damage due to a hit and run, the person can face a Class B misdemeanor and up to six month in county jail.
Obtain the Assistance of a Skilled Criminal Defense Attorney in Denton
Individuals who are involved in drug deals often desire to flee the scene of the accident, but if a hit and run occurs, they can end up facing multiple charges. Motorists must remember to remain silent if charged with a hit and run offense as well to obtain the services of an experienced lawyer. If you are charged with offenses related to a hit and run accident, the potential penalties can be particularly severe. Do not hesitate to contact a skilled attorney like the legal counsel at Wheeler Law Office LLC.
(image courtesy of Andrew Peloso)