Under Texas law, you can be charged with assault if you have caused physical harm or even threatened to cause physical harm to another person. No matter the circumstances of the situation, assault charges are a very serious matter – in addition to any legal penalties you will be facing, the repercussions of having these charges listed permanently on your record can follow you the rest of your life. If you’ve been charged with assault in Denton County , you need aggressive legal representation from an attorney experienced in handling these matters. At the Wheeler Law Office, our lead attorney is a former prosecutor who understands the tactics prosecutors use in seeking convictions. Assault charges carry serious legal penalties, and to fight these charges,
Denton County Assault Charges
Under the Texas Penal Code, Title 5, Sec. 22.01, there are three ways a person can commit an assault :
- By causing actual physical harm to another person.
- By threatening to cause physical harm to another person.
- By engaging in physical contact with another person who you may or may not realize will regard that contact as offensive or provocative.
In each of these situations, not knowing or realizing you were causing harm to the other person is not a defense. Your intent is irrelevant-whether you acted knowingly or not, or whether you realized you were causing harm or not, you can still be charged with assault.
You can be charged with aggravated assault if your actions caused serious bodily injury to another person, or if you used or even exhibited a weapon during the assault. Sexual assault, making terroristic threats, and child abandonment and endangerment all are charged under assault in Texas
Penalties for Assault
Depending on the circumstances of the assault, as well as any prior convictions you may have, penalties for assault charges may range from a Class A misdemeanor, punishable by fines of up to $4,000 and/or up to 180 days in jail, to a Felony in the 1st Degree, with fines up to $10,000 and a sentence of anywhere from 5 to 99 years in prison.
Aggravating circumstance which could increase your penalty in assault matters include:
- If the assault was committed intentionally
- The seriousness of the injuries sustained by the person you are accused of assaulting
- Whether the assault was sexual in nature
- The age of the person you assaulted-penalties are higher for assaulting a minor or the elderly
- The position of the person you assaulted-penalties are higher if the person was a federal employer or public servant
- Penalties are higher if the person you’re accused of assaulting was disabled
Contact Our Experienced Assault Defense Attorney Today
If you’re facing charges of assault, contact the Wheeler Law Office immediately. Lead attorney Alan Wheeler brings his experience as a former prosecutor and his knowledge of the tactics the D.A.’s office uses to get convictions to aggressively defend clients facing assault charges. Being accused of assault is a serious matter, and depending on the circumstances, you could be facing heavy fines and a lengthy jail sentence. These types of charges remain permanently on your record, causing damage to your reputation. Contact our experienced Denton assault attorney today for a free review of your case. We offer flat fee pricing and payment plans affordable for any budget. When you’re facing assault charges, you can’t afford not to have a serious attorney aggressively defending your case. Call the Wheeler Law Office today at (940) 465-3178.