Most of us rely upon having our driver’s license in order to provide transportation for ourselves and our loved ones. Whether traveling to work or school, running errands or just going out for a night on the town, being without a driver’s license can present a major-even life disrupting-problem. Possessing a driver’s license isn’t a right-it’s a privilege, and if you are convicted for Driving While Intoxicated (DWI), you will likely face losing that privilege for a period of time. If you’ve been charged with DWI , it’s important to be aware of what you may be facing in terms of license suspension, as well as what steps you will need to take to have your license reinstated.
Driver’s License Suspension for DWI
Texas drivers who register a blood or breath alcohol content level of 0.08 or greater will be arrested and charged with Driving While Intoxicated. If convicted of DWI, and depending on your record, you could face having your license suspended for as long as 2 years. According to the Texas Department of Transportation, the following are timelines for driver’s license suspension for first, as well as multiple, DWI offenses:
- DWI First Offense- Loss of driver’s license for up to a year
- DWI Second or Third Offense- Loss of driving privileges for up to 2 years
In addition to the above license suspension times, you will be required to pay license reinstatement fees and an annual fee once your license suspension has been lifted. These annual fees range from $1,000 to $2,000, and are required to be paid yearly for a term of 3 years in order to retain your license
Driver’s License Reinstatement After DWI
Drivers who has lost their license due to DWI must meet certain requirements before their license can be reinstated. According to the Texas Department of Public Safety, requirements for license reinstatement after DWI requirements for license reinstatement after DWI
- Pay your required reinstatement fee and any administrativ e fees that may have been incurred;
- Submit a Financial Responsibility Insurance Certificate (SR-22) to the Department of Public Safety (DPS);
- If required by the court, submit a certificate of completion for a Repeat Offenders Education Program to the DPS.
In some cases, the court may have ordered an Ignition Interlock Device (IID) be installed on your vehicle in order for you to drive. This device will measure your breath alcohol content-if alcohol is detected, the IID will disable your car until you can pass the breath test. If the court has ordered an IID be installed on your vehicle, a restricted interlock license will be granted to you. You will be responsible for paying the fees associated with your restricted license and for the IID, as well as any license reinstatement fees.
Call Our Experienced Texas DWI Attorney Today
At the Wheeler Law Office, attorney Alan Wheeler brings his wealth of experience as a former prosecutor to aggressively defend clients charged with Driving While Intoxicated. If you’ve been charged with DWI, contact us right away. Our office offers a free, initial consultation where we will review your case and answer your questions, and flat fee pricing and payment plans affordable for any budget. Call us today at (940)-465-3178. We’re here to help you 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. Don’t wait to get the legal help you need-call the Wheeler Law Office today.